Fort Vreeswijk has a rich history. Hidden in the built-up area of Nieuwegein, it was part of the New Dutch Waterline. The fort was originally built by the French in 1672 as a sconce consisting of low earthen ramparts. In around 1853, it was reinforced with magazines and quarters, the earthen ramparts were raised and a moat was dug. It served to defend the sluices, which were vital to the inundation plans. The fort has an irregular bay. The north and west ramparts are high and wide with steep banks. It is surrounded by a wide moat.