De Stijl

Rietveld and Mondriaan

The Utrecht & Amersfoort region can rightfully call itself the birthplace of De Stijl, as it is the birthplace of the four most important artists associated with the movement: Theo van Doesburg (Utrecht, 1883), Bart van der Leck (Utrecht, 1876), Gerrit Rietveld (Utrecht, 1888) and Piet Mondriaan (Amersfoort, 1872). Founder Theo van Doesburg was a native of Utrecht, and together with his colleagues from Utrecht and Amersfoort brought about a radical change in art. Traditional art forms were replaced by straight lines, geometric shapes and a minimal use of colour (primary colours in combination with black, white and grey). The Utrecht & Amersfoort region has been closely linked to De Stijl ever since, and works of art as well as its influences can still be seen in both cities

Discover De Stijl in the Utrecht Region

De Stijl cycling routes

Participating districts